ACS Commemorates World Humanitarian Day

The Association of Caribbean States joins the world in commemorating World Humanitarian Day. 

In 2009, the United Nations General Assembly designated August 19 as World Humanitarian Day in memory of the 19 August 2003 bomb attack on the Canal Hotel in Baghdad, Iraq, which killed 22 people, including the chief humanitarian in Iraq, Sergio Vieira de Mello. Each year, we have an opportunity to advocate for collaborative action to improve and safeguard the aid workers and humankind lives.

This year, World Humanitarian Day highlights the devastating impacts of climate change on those who have contributed the least to this global crisis. The theme, “The Human Race” speaks to the urgent action, which is required to save the lives of those most at risk. 

Let us raise awareness that we are immersed in a climate emergency that is not isolated from the disasters that we constantly face in our region. We are in time to win the race against climate change, to promote more adaptation actions and transform threats into opportunities. Let us together strengthen the resilience of our population.

The ACS continues to engage in strategic action to ensure that the people of the Greater Caribbean are equipped to mitigate the risks posed by climate change. We call for solidarity among world leaders and urgent action to ensure that we win #TheHumanRace.

Sobre la AEC

La Asociación de Estados del Caribe es la organización para la consulta, la cooperación y la acción concertada en la esfera del comercio, el transporte, el turismo sostenible y los desastres naturales en el Gran Caribe. Sus Estados Miembros son Antigua y Barbuda, Las Bahamas, Barbados, Belice, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, República Dominicana, El Salvador, Granada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haití, Honduras, México, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panamá, St. Kitts y Nevis, Santa Lucía, San Vicente y las Granadinas, Surinam, Trinidad y Tobago, y Venezuela. Sus Miembros Asociados son Aruba, Curazao, (Francia, en nombre de Guyana Francesa, San Bartolomé y San Martín), Guadalupe, Los Países Bajos, en nombre de Bonaire, Saba y Sint Eustatius, Martinica, Sint Maarten, Islas Turcas y Caicos.