ACS Secretary General Engages UWI Audience on Regional Integration and Future Vision

The Secretary General of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS), H.E. Rodolfo Sabonge, delivered an engaging presentation at the University of the West Indies (UWI) during the Diplomatic Dialogue: “Celebrating 30 Years of the ACS and Exploring its Regional Impact and Current Goals.” The event was held on May 29, 2024.

During the event, Secretary General Sabonge provided a detailed historical review of the ACS’s formation, highlighting the political and economic circumstances in Latin America and the Caribbean that led to the establishment of the ACS on July 24, 1994. He discussed critical historical events, such as decolonization, regional conflicts, and earlier integration efforts, which underscored the necessity of creating an organization like the ACS. He outlined several significant achievements of the ACS, including Inclusive Governance, South-South Cooperation,  and Innovative Partnerships.

In addressing the future of the ACS, Secretary General Sabonge posed critical questions about the organization’s purpose and fitness in a rapidly changing world. He emphasized the importance of the ACS’s strategic planning exercise, aimed at defining a vision and mission that align with contemporary realities and future needs. The Secretary General underscored the need for concerted regional action to ensure resilience and sustainability in the face of evolving global challenges. He also invited the audience to reflect on the concept of scenario planning to build strategies according to the current global conditions.

UWI and the Institute of International Relations (IIR) have been steadfast in their support of the ACS. This forum, which represented an opportunity for a lively exchange on the ACS’s achievements over the past 30 years and the organization’s future direction, is a testament to ACS’s commitment and pride in contributing to regional politics and international relations.

A propos de l'AEC

L'Association des Etats de la Caraïbe est une organisation de consultation, de coopération et d'action concertée dans le commerce, le transport, le tourisme durable et les catastrophes naturelles dans la Grande Caraïbe et est composé de 25 pays membres et 7 pays membres associés. Les Etats Membres sont Antigua-et-Barbuda, les Bahamas, la Barbade, Belize, Colombie, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominique, République dominicaine, El Salvador, Grenade, Guatemala, Guyana, Haïti, Honduras, Mexique, Jamaïque, Nicaragua, Panama, Saint-Kitts-Et-Nevis, Sainte-Lucie, Saint-Vincent-et-les Grenadines, Suriname, Trinité-et-Tobago et le Venezuela. Ses membres associés sont Aruba, Curaçao, (France au titre de la Guyane française, Saint-Barthélemy et Saint-Martin), Guadeloupe, (Les Pays-Bas au nom de Bonaire, Saba et Saint-Eustache), Martinique, Sint Maarten, Îles Turques et Caïques.