14th ACS Business Forum of the Greater Caribbean Opens

14th ACS Business Forum of the Greater Caribbean Opens

The 14th ACS Business Forum of the Greater Caribbean began today in the Republic of Nicaragua, bringing the public and private sectors from around the Greater Caribbean to discuss issues affecting the region and seek solutions. 

At fhe opening ceremony, Secretary General Rodolfo Sabonge said that the Forum is a unique meeting space in the context of recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic. 

"The Business Forum is intended to be a platform to facilitate and strengthen connections within the region's business community... Under the theme "Building Resilience for a Post-COVID-19 Business Environment ", the focus is firmly on rebuilding and revitalising the regional business community."

Representative of the Chair of the ACS Special Committee on Trade Development and External Economic Relations Kay Sealy said "A roadmap must be developed and incorporated in recovery plans to assist the community. The pandemic exacerbated a number of vulnerabilities that existed prior to the crisis. We must build back better."

Representing this year's, host, Nicaragua, Orlando Solórzano said:"We have a great instrument that we can use and it is the instrument of integration. Integration with the principles of unity and diversity. The integration process of Latin America and the Caribbean advances through systems. We need to strengthen the Mesoamerican and Caribbean system."

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.