Emancipation Message by Ambassador David Comissiong of Barbados

Ambassador Comissiong delivering the ACS' Second Excellence Lecture in Port-of-Spain | 2019
Emancipation Day Message
David Comissiong - Barbados' Ambassador to CARICOM & the Association of Caribbean States
For me, Emancipation Day is a time for reflection on our ancestors' epic struggle against the system of Chattel Slavery -- perhaps the most evil and brutal system of oppression ever invented -- and the tremendous victory that they won in that monumental battle. And if there is one constant that I discern in that history, it is our ancestors' irrepressible longing and struggle for freedom. 
The annual commemorating of Emancipation Day helps me to better appreciate our unique historical heritage of -- on the one hand -- victimization and suffering, but also-- even more significantly-- of resistance, courage, resilience, cultural creativity, and a deep commitment to freedom and human dignity.
I would therefore like to urge my brothers and sisters to embrace the commemoration of Emancipation Day as an opportunity to further prepare ourselves-- as a people -- to assume the great Mission that our history has bequeathed to us: namely, to be the World's foremost advocates and defenders of the values of freedom and human dignity, and the greatest opponents of racism.
About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.