Former ACS Secretary General Dr. June Soomer awarded the Order of José de Marcoleta by the government of Nicaragua


Former ACS Secretary General Dr. June Soomer (2016-2020) has been awarded the Order of José de Marcoleta - Grand Cross, by the government of Nicaragua, for her commitment and dedication to the needs of the people and countries of the Greater Caribbean.
In a virtual ceremony on August 31, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Nicaragua Denis Moncada Colindres highlighted Dr. Soomer’s work restructuring and revitalising the ACS and the support that she offered Nicaragua while chair of the Ministerial Council from 2018-2019.
In giving thanks for the award, Dr. Soomer stressed the importance of continuing to promote cooperation, sovereignty, integration and equality in the Greater Caribbean.
The José de Marcoleta Order is the highest award for achievements in the sphere of diplomacy and international relations. It is awarded to people who have promoted peace, international friendship and defended the sovereignty of Nicaragua. The Grand Cross is bestowed upon heads of state, government, ministers, and ambassadors.


About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.