Message of condolence to Suriname

The Secretariat of the Association of Caribbean States presents its compliments to Suriname, and has further the honor to join in this time of National mourning being observed, following the tragic mining disaster in the Brokopondo district.

In this regard, the Secretariat extends its condolences to the people of Suriname, saddened by the loss of life. Its thoughts are with the families of the victims, trusting that all will receive the best possible care and support towards a speedy recovery.

The Secretariat of the Association of Caribbean States avails itself of the opportunity to renew to Suriname the assurances of its highest consideration.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.