Spain to deepen ties with the ACS


Port of Spain (May 10, 2012) – The Secretary General of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS), Ambassador Alfonso Múnera Cavadía, received an official visit from the Ambassador of Spain, Joaquín de Arístegui in Trinidad and Tobago. Ambassador Arístegui was accompanied by Ms. Beatriz Lorenzo.


The Spanish Ambassador congratulated the Secretary General on his appointment as Secretary General of the ACS. He further expressed his Government’s interest in evaluating different types of co-operation with this organisation. This bilateral meeting is the start of a process of exchanges between both parties, geared toward deepening Spain’s relationship in its capacity as an observer country of the ACS.


Secretary Múnera thanked the Ambassador of Spain for his congratulatory expressions and conveyed his enthusiasm in strengthening relations between the ACS and Spain.


Spain is an Observer Country of the ACS. The Observer Countries of the Association include: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, India, Italy, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Korea, Morocco, Peru, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.