3RD MEETING OF THE GREEN RESPONSE COORDINATING COMMITTEE - ACS, ODPM, IFRC, TTCRS meet to discuss Disaster Risk Reduction ‘Green Response’ project


Trinidad and Tobago (May 17th, 2013)
The Transport and Disaster Risk Reduction Directorate
of the Association of Caribbean States, in conjunction with the Office of
Disaster Preparedness and Management (ODPM), International Federation of Red
Cross (IFRC) and the Trinidad and Tobago Red Cross Society (TTRCS) met
Wednesday 15
th of May, 2013 to discuss the implementation of the “Green Response to Disasters” project. <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />


The meeting, held at the ACS Secretariat, was
attended by: Director of Transport and Disaster Risk Reduction at the ACS,
Eduardo Gonzalez; Advisor for Transport and Disaster Risk Reduction at the ACS,
Mathieu Fontanaud; Regional Coordinator at the ODPM, Denise Anderson; Integrated
Programme Coordinator at the IFRC, Marisa Clarke-Marshall and Director of
Disaster Management at the TTRCS, Earl Hernandez;


Director <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />Eduardo Gonzalez
delivered the opening remarks in which he stressed his commitment and support
towards the aforementioned project, the ‘Green
Response to Disasters
’ – an initiative that directly correlates with one of
the priority areas of the Association.   


The meeting outlined key aspects for the undertaking
of the project, such as the creation of working groups; designation of tasks
and responsibilities; sourcing and allocation of financial resources and the
assigning of a regional coordinator to overseer the project.


The next meeting is scheduled to be held on the 11th
of June, 2013.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.