The ACS and the Dominican Republic engage in trade talks


Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago (July 5th, 2013) –  Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Dominican Republic, the Honourable Carlos Morales Troncoso, and Secretary General of the Association of Caribbean States, Alfonso Múnera, met recently to discuss the prospect of trade and investment in the Asian region.


The meeting, held at the ACS Secretariat in Trinidad and Tobago, was also attended by Deputy Foreign Minister for Economic Affairs and Trade Negotiations, Mr. Dargam Caesar and ACS Director of Trade Development and External Economic Relations, Mr. Alberto Duran.


Secretary General Múnera endorsed the prospect of meeting with the private sector of the Asian region to promote trade and investment.


Minister Morales, alluding to changes in the global economic climate, highlighted the need for deeper and stronger regional ties within the Caribbean.


Commenting on the revitalization of the ACS and its recent resurgence, the Minister described the Association as having an integral role in the economic development of the Greater Caribbean region.


The meeting also facilitated discussion on ACS focal areas of Sustainable Tourism and Disaster Risk Reduction and Management.


In relation to the latter, the Minister mentioned that the Third International Conference of HOPEFOR would be hosted by the Dominican Republic in November. The initiative aims to promote dialogue between governmental heads, humanitarian actors, civil society and all relevant stakeholders, in the area of emergency response and improve civil-military coordination.


The Dominican Republic is a Member Country of the ACS and currently occupies the position of Vice-Chairman in the Special Committee of Disaster Risk Reduction.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.