ACS Congratualtes T&T on 59th Independence Anniversary

Independence Day


The Secretary General of the Association of Caribbean States wishes the people and the government of The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago a happy celebration on the 59th anniversary of independence.

Trinidad and Tobago, both originally settled by various indigenous nations, gained independence from Britain on August 31, 1962. From 1498 to 1797 Trinidad was a colony of Spain. Tobago was colonised by the Dutch, British, French and became united with Trinidad in 1889.

Trinidad and Tobago has always supported the efforts of the Association of Caribbean States. This is evident in the fact that for the last 27 years, the ACS Secretariat has been hosted there. Trinidad and Tobago hosted the Inaugural Heads of State and or Government Summit in 1995 and has been the host of several meetings of the Ministerial Council.

We look forward to the continued development of an already-productive relationship with Minister of Caricom and Foreign Affairs Dr. Amery Browne.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.