ACS Observers & Donors Set to Discuss Cooperation in First Techincal Meeting




Port of Spain, 1st March, 2021 - The willingness and desire to enhance and increase cooperation actions in the Greater Caribbean is one of the primary reasons that influenced the creation of the Association of Caribbean States in 1994. The need for cooperation has significantly intensified in recent time, particularly given the pandemic of COVID-19, thus cooperation and collaboration with regional and international stakeholders is considered a crucial element serving as the driving force towards a coordinated, more inclusive and sustainable development and recovery process of the Greater Caribbean region.

On March 2nd 2021, the 1st Meeting of the Technical Working Group of ACS Observers and Donors will take place bringing together ACS Observer Countries and Organisations, as well as existing and potential donor agencies to assume greater presence and a leading role in exchanging ideas, project financing and proposal, strategies, amongst others in the areas of cooperation and resource mobilisation. This technical meeting represents an opportunity for strengthening relations and implementing effective, lasting and beneficial cooperation for the Greater Caribbean with a Working Group geared towards innovative approaches and the sharing of best practices in cooperation and resource mobilisation, strategic plans to contribute to the fulfilment of the SDG’s in the Greater Caribbean and lastly, the consolidation of the ACS as a platform for project and programme implementation for the Greater Caribbean for post COVID 19 recovery. The ACS, through the Directorate for Cooperation and Resource Mobilisation is actively pursuing strengthened partner coordination, increased resource mobilisation, and created synergies for an effective COVID-19 response in the region.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.