Secretariat Congratulates Chair - Mexico - on 211th Independence Anniversary

The Secretariat of the ACS congratulates the United Mexican States on this the 211th anniversary of its independence.

Mexico's independence was declared in the town of Dolores, Guanajuato in the event which is known as the Cry of Dolores, on September 16, 1810.

Mexico is the current Chair of the ACS Ministerial Council and has been the Chair of the ACS on several occasions. In 2014, the sixth ACS Heads of State and or Government Summit was hosted in Mérida, Mexico and the ninth Summit is set to be held in Mexico in 2022. It is also the Chair of the Special Committee on Budget and Administration.  Mexico is part of the Group of Three sub-grouping of the ACS, which also includes Colombia and Venezuela.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.